Em's place

Writing, anxiety-wrangling, tea.

Between Two Thorns

The first novel in the Split Worlds series, Between Two Thorns is currently only available as an audiobook but will be re-launched in paperback and ebook editions by Diversion Press on February 23rd 2016.

Here’s what some wonderful people have said about the book:

“Emma Newman has built a modern fantasy world with such élan and authority
her ideas of why and how the seemingly irrational world of Fairy works
should be stolen by every other writer in the field. Her characters are
complex and troubled, courageous at times and foolhardy.
This book of wonders is first rate.”
Bill Willingham, Eisner Award winner, and creator of Fables

“Emma Newman has created a reflection of Bath that reminds one that charming is not safe. Between Two Thorns shows the darkness beneath the glamour of the social Season. Learning to be a young lady has never seemed so dangerous.”
– Mary Robinette Kowal, Hugo Award winner, and author of Shades of Milk and Honey and Glamour in Glass

“With a feather-light touch, Emma Newman has crafted a very English fantasy, one brilliantly realised and quite delightful, weaving magic, mystery and parallel worlds together with ease. Newman may well be one of our brightest stars, The Split Worlds: Between Two Thorns is just the beginning of a remarkable journey.”
– Adam Christopher, author of Empire State and Seven Wonders

Between Two Thorns is magical, exciting, and clever. It manages to conjure a world that feels completely natural but also mysterious, sometimes dangerous, sometimes funny, combining several different kinds of urban fantasy into one story, and capturing a lovely sense of modern Britishness that is reminiscent of other fantastic British fantasy. I’m eagerly awaiting the sequel!”
– Fantasy Faction

In the meantime…

There is also an audio book version, narrated by me for Brilliance Audio and you can find that on Audible here.

You can sign up for a year and a day of free weekly stories set in the Split Worlds here.

The second book in the series is called “Any Other Name”  and the third is “All Is Fair”. The fourth novel in the series, “A Little Knowledge” will be released on August 2nd 2016.

{ 2 comments... read them below, or add one }

  1. […] is the author of the Split Worlds series among many other things. (I’m reading the first, Between Two Thorns at the moment, and it’s […]

  2. […] ticked by. I landed a proper book deal for the Split Worlds series and then something happened that I never thought would: SFX wanted to do a two-page featured author […]

Leave a comment

CommentLuv badge